Under Maryland Law employers are required on receipt of an earnings withholding order to deduct the amount of withholding from the obligor’s earnings on a regular basis and send the deducted net amount to the State Disbursement Unit within 7 days after the day on which the earnings are paid to the obligor. An employer may deduct and retain from the obligor’s wages an additional $2 for each deduction made under the earnings withholding order. An employer may not use the withholding as a basis for reprisal against the obligor, dismissal from employment, or refusal to hire or promote the obligor.
Beginning January 2015, Maryland will issue IWOs electronically. More information about the e-IWO program, and instructions on signing up are available on the Federal Office of Child Support website.